Follow us on Twitter Find us on Facebook Join us on LinkedIn See our photos on Flickr Subscribe to our RSS Feeds

Latest News

Call for Abstracts EXTENDED – Goyder Institute Water Forum 2017
More info...

South East community boosted by research insight
More info...

Latest Events

2nd Gas Policy and Water Management
More info...

Save the date – Goyder Institute Water Forum 2017
More info...


Ms Sanjina Upadhyay


Sanjina Upadhyay is a PhD student in Aquatic Ecology at the University of Adelaide's School of Earth and Environmental Sciences. Her PhD research is investigating how the connection and disconnection between the main river channel and its floodplains in a regulated dryland river alters the river-floodplain exchange of riverine energy sources and downstream water chemistry, and what implications such alterations have on river metabolism; taking Chowilla Floodplain region in the South Australian section of the highly regulated River Murray as the study site.       

Sanjina was a recipient of the International Center of Excellence in Water Resources (ICE WaRM) Scholarship in 2011 on which she completed Master of Water Resources Management (MWRM) from the University of Adelaide in 2012, during when she spent a semester on a research project to evaluate the mixing potential of a surface mounted solar-powered water mixer (SWM) for controlling cyanobacterial blooms. After completing the MWRM, she recieved the University of Adelaide School of Earth and Environmental Sciences Summer Research Scholarship (2012-13), when she was part of the River Torrens Water Quality Improvement Trial for controlling summer episodes of harmful algal blooms in the River Torrens and Torrens Lake. Prior to these, Sanjina graduated with a BSc (Hons) in Environmental Science from Kathmandu University, Nepal in 2010, where as part of her honours project, she developed a threshold duration-amount based empirical model to approximate the monsoon onset date in Nepal while investigating the monsoon onset variability in the country from 1979 to 2008.